Undead Goathead

Dedicated to metal, music, and mischief.

About Undead Goathead

In a hostile environment where everything bites, scratches, or stings, Undead Goathead is an oasis of rebellion and creativity. What originated as a blog about my local metal scene in Santa Fe, New Mexico, is now much broader, encompassing rock, metal, and punk bands throughout the globe. Although I keep track of current and upcoming releases, I also focus on older albums, be they classic or obscure. While the music itself comes first and foremost, there are also several musings on the philosophy and culture behind this powerful music.

The title “Undead Goathead” is derived from the Goathead thorn, native to New Mexico. This thorn is even more spiky and evil after it is dry and dead. The local colloquialism for such a thorn is “Undead Goathead”. The non-native, however, just thinks it sounds like a zombie pentagram, which is totally Metal.

In a nutshell, this website is just trying to give the underground talent the mad props that they deserve.


3 thoughts on “About Undead Goathead

  1. EYES OF THE LIVING – “FEAR COMES KNOCKING” out February 25th, 2022 (Review & Interview Consideration)

    Hello! Burt Wolf here from BEOWOLF PRODUCTIONS. I am helping with PR for the Philadelphia, Pennsylvania based Thrash Metal band EYES OF THE LIVING. I was contacting you to see if you would be interested in doing a review for their second release “FEAR COMES KNOCKING” due out via Blood Blast Distribution on February 25th, 2022. If you enjoy the release and would also like to do an interview or article on the band please let me know. Below are links for more information on the band as well as Bio, Photos, Music, Videos & their album “FEAR COMES KNOCKING”. Please take some time to check them out and let us know what you think. If you do a review on the bands release or cover them in anyway, can you please let us know when it’s posted and where to find it. Thank you for your time and consideration.

    – Burt Wolf


    Release Date: February 25, 2022
    Label: Blood Blast Distribution

    “Fear Comes Knocking” Album/Music Link: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/ujpjzw6qfvcu4tf/AAAeLza2RmzpL99KSevlCwPBa?dl=0
    Press Kit: http://www.EyesoftheLiving.com/EPK

    © 2021 EYES OF THE LIVING – Tim Swisher – A.S.C.A.P.

    EYES OF THE LIVING – Philadelphia, PA USA based Modern Thrash Band formed in 2016.
    Tim Swisher – Vocals / Guitar
    Chris Moore – Backing Vocals / Bass
    Mike Straiton – Lead Guitar
    Cliff Fritts – Drums

    About the new album “FEAR COMES KNOCKING”:
    Influenced by the current state of the world, their sophomore effort features some of the darkest, heaviest, and most unrelenting material in EYES OF THE LIVING’s history. Vocalist/guitarist Tim Swisher commented, “As much as we may not intentionally wanted it to, I feel the writing process became influenced by the current times and state of things, evident in the title track and first single “Fear Comes Knocking”. This album feels a bit heavier, maybe even darker in sound and mood on some tracks. The lyrical content touches on subjects of fear, anger, betrayal, religion and overcoming certain emotions. It continues to expand in the direction we are headed in musically, without deviating too much from our roots in Thrash Metal.”

    Members have composed music for Television including:
    CW’s The Messengers, That Metal Show, Ozzy and Jack’s World Detour and others.

    East Coast Regional Champions of the 2018 WACKEN METAL BATTLE USA,
    2nd place overall at the Nationals held at The Viper Room in West Hollywood, California.
    EYES OF THE LIVING has shared the stage in support of OBITUARY, CHILDREN OF BODOM, BYZANTINE, VICIOUS RUMORS, SKINLAB, EXMORTUS, HOOKERS & BLOW, Comedian Don Jamieson and others.

    EYES OF THE LIVING played the FULL TERROR ASSAULT 2021 Open Air Festival in Cave-In-Rock, Illinois (with EXODUS, M.O.D., MISERY INDEX, INTERNAL BLEEDING & many others), as well as the BLUE RIDGE ROCK FEST 2021 in Danville, Virginia (with MEGADETH, ANTHRAX, TESTAMENT, SUICIDAL TENDENCIES, SOULFLY, HATEBREED & many others).

    P.O. BOX 1647
    LEVITTOWN, PA. 19058 USA

    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/eyesoftheliving
    Reverbnation: http://www.reverbnation.com/eyesoftheliving
    YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UC3zh0Ce17k4vgQmGplMKPSg
    Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/eyesoftheliving
    Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/eyesoftheliving

    Worldwide digital Distribution via BLOOD BLAST DISTRIBUTION

    Thank you very much for your time and consideration.

  2. “Vampiric” is a new gothic death metal album by CLAYSHAPER. As the name implies, it explores themes and tales regarding the living dead. Of those who follow strangers in the night. Of those afflicted by the curse of the vampire.
    “One hundred years ago the iconic vampire film ‘Nosferatu’ was released. This dark and gritty depiction of beings beyond death is as relevant as it’s ever been and certainly a big inspiration for Vampiric,” says Clayshaper. “This is very apparent in the music video for the title track on the album.”
    The album consists of eleven songs and ten instrumental versions.
    “The first track ‘Prologue’ is an eerie recording of an old Swedish cittra I inherited,” Clayshaper adds. “It was covered in cobwebs when I found it in my family home. The blackened and cracked instrument is at least from the turn of the 20th century. A fitting introduction.”
    “Vampiric” will be released digitally everywhere May 27th. On Bandcamp official tabs (guitar pro) will be included in the free download.
    CLAYSHAPER is a one man artist, known for his surreal digital art and heavy hitting melodic/gothic death metal reaching over 20 000 followers on Instagram.
    “I love my golem followers dearly. We’re all over the world, people with an affinity for dark aesthetics. This is nothing I take for granted and we’re forever spirit linked in this way.” says Clayshaper.
    Selection of musical inspiration behind CLAYSHAPER: Tribulation, Ghost, Kvelertak, Swallow the Sun, Opeth, Unto Others.
    The album art was created by CLAYSHAPER by stitching and altering several etchings of the master Gustave Doré.
    SPOTIFY PRE-SAVE LINK (I’m eternally grateful if this is included in some way)

    1. Prologue, 01:01
    2. Town Bell, 04:21
    3. Hex Rite, 04:13
    4. Graveyard Ecdysis, 03:19
    5. Sunrise Cult, 04:24
    6. Blood Healer, 03:30
    7. Barrowborn, 04:12
    8. Forest Regalia, 05:11
    9. Vampiric, 03:56
    10. Spirit Linked, 03:53
    11. The Coveted Nectar, 03:50

  3. “Tales of Demolyn” is the upcoming debut album by Demolyn, a one man black metal band from Gothenburg, Sweden. Demolyn sets out to tell a tale with each and every song he writes, which is implied in the album title. The album aims to create an atmospheric sound which is unique to each song and tale. The listener is taken to eight unique settings across the album, from a flame covered battlefield beneath the blood red moon to an ice cold mountain haunted by a mysterious entity.

    “Tales of Demolyn” will be released digitally everywhere on August 12th.

    1. The Shattered Soul, 4:46
    2. Withering Away, 4:06
    3. Döden Jag Är, 6:46
    4. Hear My Battle Cry, 4:25
    5. På Toppen av Berget, 5:19
    6. Per Sanguinem Effuderit, 7:28
    7. Höj Era Svärd, 5:07
    8. The Seven Riders of Demolyn, 4:02

    Selection of musical inspirations to Demolyn: Satyricon, Bathory, Darkthrone, Immortal, Dissection, Marduk, Mörk Gryning

    Private pre-release of the full album, download through dropbox: https://www.dropbox.com/t/6n7wmSaVTRO0fxsg

    Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/artist/3BaXqUhus0GgphU1c4OXi9?si=dpKm9MZITdiJvj9s2kEfXA

    Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/demolyn.band/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *